This is what happens when you peruse CocktailDB too much – You come across a drink you really want to try, but you don’t *quite* have all the right ingredients…

This is the original cocktail I stumbled upon while looking for Rum/Benedictine combinations (http://www.cocktaildb.com/recipe_detail?id=3683):

Rum Ricky Variation:

1.5 oz Light Rum

.75 oz Benedictine

.5 oz Lemon Juice

.25 oz Grenadine

Build in an ice-filled Collins glass and top with soda.

Tasty looking, but I had used up all my light rum the night before, and while I did have some POM sitting around, I didn’t really want to make Grenadine. So, time for some (slightly odd) variations:

Rum Rickey Variation Variation

1.5 oz Dark Rum (I used El Dorado 12 because…well, it’s the only rum I have at the moment)

.75 oz Benedictine

.5 oz Lemon juice

Scant .5 oz Hibiscus-Ginger infused Simple Syrup

Build in an ice-filled Collins glass and top with soda. Garnish with an orange twist.

Close, but not quite the same ingredients. That being said, it’s a damn tasty drink. The flavours from the rum come through clearly, and all the ingredients work nicely together to make a nice, crisp drink. Honestly, I can see myself having more of these come summer time – As there’s still snow on the ground, it doesn’t have quite the same appeal, but I’m filling this one away for later consumption. Yum

Cheers

