Made a few different infused syrups tonight. Partially to use some stuff up, partially out of boredom, partially because I’m planning to meet up with a couple of friends tomorrow night and I wanted to have some neat drinks for them to try – Experimentation is so much more fun with company (…And get your mind out of the gutter. >.<)

First up was a Hibiscus Ginger syrup. I started with a basic 1:1 simple syrup, which I brought together on the stove. As it was turning completely clear and starting to simmer I added two tablespoons of The Tao of Tea’s ‘Hibiscus Ginger’ tisane. I let that simmer for a few minutes, then took it off the stove, bottled it and threw it in the fridge. Tomorrow I’ll strain out the tisane mix, but I don’t think there’s any harm in leaving it in for tonight (Of course, I could be totally wrong – I don’t do this often.). We’ll see how it comes out.

The other syrup I made was Rose infused. Again, I started with 1:1 simple syrup, then added about 15 or so dried rose buds that I had gotten from my local tea shop (Normally I’d toss them in something like a Pai Mu Tan to add some extra flavour and complexity). That’s also sitting in the fridge waiting for a final straining tomorrow.

It’s not hard to imagine uses for the Hibiscus-Ginger syrup (Start with Rum and work your way forward, heh), but I admit I’m not entirely sure what I’m going to do with the Rose Syrup. I was actually planning to make a Lemongrass infusion, but I threw the Roses in instead on a whim. My first thought is gin, something to complement the floral nature of the roses.  Maybe a Gin Fizz riff?

Gin Fizz Experiment:

1.5 oz Gin

.5 oz Lemon Juice

.5 oz Rose Syrup

Shake, Strain into an ice-filled highball glass, top with Soda. Garnish with lemon slice.

Well, we’ll see. Updates forthcoming!

Cheers

