Apparently February 22nd is National Margarita Day in the US, so this is a day late, but I’m Canadian – Sue me. We do things differently up here.

Normally this is where I would rant about how people have taken a once-great cocktail and popularized it as a neon coloured, sickly sweet, vile slushy mess but…meh. If that’s what floats your boat, I’m not going to stop you. I will say it’s *wrong*, but c’est la vie.  In other words, to paraphrase…well, someone: I disprove of what you drink, but I will defend to the death your right to drink it!

That being said, if you’ve never taken the time to make a proper Margarita, do it soon. You’re missing out on a great drink.

Classic Margarita:

1.5 oz tequila (Blanco, preferably. You can do it with a reposado if you really want, but the reality is higher quality aged tequilas have all kinds of subtle nuances that get totally lost in the drink. It’s a waste to use them here)

1 oz triple sec

.5 oz lime juice (Freshly squeezed – Does this even need to be said?)

Shake, serve straight up with a half salted rim (Leave half of the rim alone for those who don’t like the salt rim).

Some minor points: Yes, I gave a 3:2:1 ratio. There are many, many arguments over what is the ‘Proper’ ratio for a Margarita. The reality is that you need to play around with the drink until you find what you like – Especially if you’ve never had one before.

Too, there’s nothing wrong with having this drink on the rocks. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

Cheers

