This is a drink I found on Jeffrey Morgenthaler’s fantastic blog – http://www.jeffreymorgenthaler.com/2005/the-blood-orange/

Campari? Sign me up!

The Blood Orange

1.5 oz Orange Juice

1.5 oz Gin

.75 oz Campari

.75 oz Dry Vermouth

Shake and strain into a chilled cocktail glass.

I made a few small changes to the recipe (Mainly due to my embarrassing lack of vermouth >.<). Not having any vermouth, I shrugged and subbed Lillet Blanc instead. Not a perfect substitution by any stretch, but in this case it worked out just fine. It upped the bitterness of a drink a tad, but I don’t mind bitter at all, so it worked for me. I also added a dash of Regan’s Orange Bitters because, well, it seemed to fit. Finishing it off, I garnished the drink with flamed orange zest. Why? Well…because I had an orange I was going to eat and I *love* flaming orange zests. What can I say? I’m a bit of a pyro.

The drink is complex, bitter and citrus-y, although the Campari and OJ bring some sweetness as well. It’s a great drink, although if you hate Campari i’d hesitate to say this will convert you. If some bitterness appeals, however, you’ll love this. A refreshing change from my usual sours.

Cheers

